Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Sign In with Google

In this Discussion

Aneros Use Affect PSA Level?
  • rman
    Total newbie here (HGX just arrived today) wondering if I can expect a change in PSA level with use. Annual checkup is coming up and wonder what I would say to the doctor if my PSA level showed a change from the usual (or if Prostate felt somehow different during his exam).
  • Your prostate should feel no different to your physician unless something else is going on ie prostatitis, cancer or BPH (enlargement). However your PSA level could rise with stimulation of any kind. You should be just fine as long as you refrain from using the aneros 24-48 hrs prior to your blood draw for your PSA.

la
  • darwindarwin
    on the question of what you'd tell your physician: you'd tell him you are using a prostate stimulator. your doctor is there to hear the truth from you.

on PSA:

i had previously reported that my PSA was elevated for my age (3.6).

i figured it might be the aneros. so i layed off for about 10 days. it went down to 2.7, which is just barely over the 2.5 cutoff for my age.

i thought "cool" i'll just lay off longer and it will go below the threshold and i'll be all set.

i layed off almost a month. it went up! to 4.3.

that landed me in the operating room for a prostate biopsy. came up neg. (while great, this is not conclusive as the biopsy is a sample, and it can miss the spot sometimes).

the half-life of PSA is 2-3 days. so, if you want to remove all effects of aneros stim, you might want to wait a week or so.

by the way, for any of you that ends up with their end up for a biopsy i have one very strong recommendation: make them *wait* till the Novocaine penetrates all the way (probably about 10 minutes). in my case it had, and it was painless. but i have heard horror stories. (i even heard about a case when they didn't use Novocaine. that is *not* pretty).