Are nipples are att...

Notifications
Clear all

Are nipples are attached to the vagus nerve ?

(@newbie2009)
Reputable Member Customer
Topic starter  

Hey J4 -- here's the $ 1.67 summary:

General Findings:
It’s tempting to build a case for a vagus presence in the breast, based on sensory experience and the influence of both Prolactin and Oxytocin on breast tissue and milk production. (1) Further general discussions of the vagus indicate connections to all internal organs save for the adrenals. (7) But, when tracing out each of those trunks, there’s no mention of breasts, lacrimal tissue etc.
The seminal work (1840) on this topic appears to be reference (4) which makes for some fascinating reading regarding the connection of the nipple to the uterus. (Gawd, “the ancients knew” and I didn’t find out until a sunny afternoon in the park in 1951 when my g/f clued me in – had I studied more instead of playing ball, I could have had two more years of good times !) Cooper however attributes this relationship to the ‘grand sympathetic nerve’ implying that it’s all CNS and any “connection” must be in a low level of the brain stem.. (I’d hazard a synaptic loop somewhere below the mid-brain, if such loops can exist/form – I didn’t trace out the actual nerve paths for such a loop.). Here’s the detailed quote from Cooper:
“.The fourth dorsal nerve appears just below the fourth
rib, emerging through the intercostal space from the inner
part of the chest. It almost immediately divides into two
nerves ; the upper branch passes to the external mammary
artery, and descends with it to the upper part of the mamma.
The second branch passes upon the surface of the breast and
advances to the basis of the nipple, where it divides into
branches which supply its papillae.” (4)